Inspirations

All my senses come to life

While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

Ed Sheeran “One”

Music is so powerful and vulnerable all at once. It’s this kaleidoscope of stories: feelings twist and turn, emotions confessed, relationships ended, stories told, and even just an anthem for a night out. Music is the center of human nature and can be traced back thousands of years.

Drums were beat on to call to the gods in ancient religions, the Greeks even had a god for music, Apollo, Native Americans danced to the beat of a drum and verbal shoutouts to their own religion, and now music is a way that people express themselves. Without music, humans would lose a unique way of expression.

Now, I’m no art major, humanitarian, or historian. I just know my way around Google ;P. Despite all of those things, music — as well as writing — continues to fascinate me. I am a music junkie and definitely a music classicist. I enjoy buying CD’s from Walmart or Target and if there’s money in my iTunes account, I download songs at the click of a button.

Unlike most people my age, I’m not a fan of current pop music. I enjoy today’s country music, but for pop, hip hop, and rock I like to trace it back a couple decades. I enjoy 1960-1980’s music nearly as much as my mother who grew up in those years. Journey, Van Halen, Billy Joel, The Beatles, Bruce Springsteen, The Eagles, and even Rod Stewart.

Something about music has ways of inspiring me. I listen to music while reading books, and if it’s really good and the music sticks I relive the books when I hear the songs I listened to.

Last summer when I had a total twentieth century music kick (seriously, I had some Frank Sinatra at one point on my phone and Doris Day) I listened to that playlist while I read this amazing book series: Lux Series. So now when I listen to Bruce Springsteen’s Born to Run I definitely think of the characters and their story in that short four minutes and thirty-one seconds. Soon I was picking up the guitar and ukulele, strumming out chords until I built up callouses. (Too bad it didn’t last)

When I came back around to writing again in the fall, music took on a new inspiration. Soon music took up an muse for a specific chapter I’d want to write somewhere in the story. For example Passenger’s Let Her Go got my creative gears grinding after I saw a picture online and my fingers were flying across the keyboard. Thankfully for me, that story became popular faster than any others of mine. (It’s only in the ones of thousands but I still can’t believe that!)

Now that it’s 11:20 at night and I’ve got my headphones in and Microsoft Word pulled up, it helps the writing process. Sometimes I wonder if the chapter would go different if I didn’t listen to that particular song. What if it was too angry for the setting? What if it was too melancholy when they should be happy? But I like to think that it takes on a different life if I let this music influence me.

Now reading deeper into my favorite songs on Rap Genius, it takes on a completely new outtake if I want to add a YouTube link into the side of a chapter.

And I hope music never fails to inspire me or anyone else. Thanks for reading my late night ramblings on music.

— B.

P.s. Photo creds to Google 🙂 (I can’t remember the website)

Leave a Reply

