Fangirling over Fangirl

 

“You’ve read the books?”

“I’ve seen the movies.”

Cath rolled her eyes so hard, it hurt. (Actually.) (Maybe because she was still on the edge of tears. On the edge, period.) “So you haven’t read the books.”

“I’m not really a book person.”

“That might be the most idiotic thing you’ve ever said to me”

Hello beautiful people of the internet! Tonight I finished Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. And I am DEFINITELY fangirling.

This book has been amazing for many reasons. 1) it brought me out of my reading slump, 2) it made me fall back in love with contemporary romances, and 3) I NEED A LEVI!!

Okay, I’m struggling with sleep deprivation and the feels. Two very hard things to deal with while trying to sort out your thoughts into a review that makes sense!!

From the beginning…

I loved Cath from the beginning. One, she has a very unique name and two, she’s a lot like me in many different ways. Cath is introduced as a shy, geeky college girl showing up on her first day of freshmen year to her dorm room. She walks in and her outgoing, on occasion and circumstance bitchy, and lovable (though it took me a while to come around but more on that later) roommate Reagan. Well, first there’s a mysterious stranger Levi who claims to know her roommate. Cath keeps him out and actually the beginning of this book reminded me of John Green’s Looking for Alaska. When Miles “Pudge” walks in and the Colonel is already made himself at home and he is the total opposite of Miles.

Anyways, Cath was a shy girl whose twin sister decided not to room with her for the first time ever, and was determined not be social. I saw myself in her. Bringing food to avoid the cafeteria and eating with strangers, holed up in her room writing, reading, fangirling, or homework, and definitely the whole people-aren’t-my-thing vibe. Cath is my favorite character in a long time since… my goodness, Cinder. (Well I guess Cress but Cinder started with those characters). Despite her stance on being anti-social unless necessary, she was a witty character who made me laugh many times. I loved reading along as she grew as a person. She starts off as someone who is holding onto this book series since she was eight (I think it’s like Harry Potter but for this fictional world… it’s how I compared it the entire book) and it was a major crutch for her. College is a big changer in anyone’s life and Cath’s was no different. She went from YA books fanatic, to still Simon Snow fanatic but it wasn’t the entire center of her world. Her twin sister, Wren, grew up faster than Cath did.

Wren was a complicated character. Despite she was a carbon copy of Cath — or maybe Cath is a carbon copy of her — she was the outgoing one. Wren had always supported Cath in her fanfiction writing and was her BFF for life, built in for life as they said it, and then college happened and Wren wanted the Full College Experience package. Cath wanted the I’m Here For The Classes one. Wren was the stereotypical college freshmen that your family and parent’s friends warn you not to be. Partying and not enough studying. She was definitely a polar opposite of Cath. As not much of a partier myself I didn’t like Wren but as the book went on and I learned more about her I grew to love her as a character too.

Reagan, Cath’s roommate, was a character that it took me a little bit to come around for in this book. Honestly, many of the characters I liked them as Cath liked them. Reagan was almost like Wren but older and not careless. Reagan was definitely different than from what Cath was and who she expected for a roommate. As they were so different and the bitchy kind of aura that Reagan put off, Cath thought she hated her until Reagan set the record straight. She was entertaining and not who I thought she was, or Cath thought she was 😉 . In college when I have to get a roommate, I don’t think I would mind someone like Reagan 🙂

Alright… let’s get to Levi. OH Levi.

*Dreamy face* Can someone make Levi real? Because he is basically the definition of my dream guy. Levi is a go-lucky, happy person. He’s always smiling. He doesn’t ever hesitate to speak his mind, but he is kind about what he says. He is a boy raised on a ranch so a country boy and that’s pretty awesome, too. Most of all? He loves all of Cath’s quirks. If I could find a guy that enjoyed hearing about my incessant fangirling, didn’t mind going with me to premieres of my geeky stuff, and encouraged me to do all of it? I think I’d marry him.

At first I didn’t like him. (I’m telling you, some of these characters were outside of who I would hang out with, so I didn’t like some of them. But I think all of my stances changed on them 🙂 ). He was a little too happy for me 😛 but then I realized he’s pretty awesome. He works at a Starbucks and loves it. He’s happy with his life. He makes the best out of situations and *dreamy eyes* swoon.

Spoiler???

I ship Cath and Levi. So. Much.

Overall, I loved this book. Fangirl was definitely an amazing read. I enjoyed watch Cath develop as a person and become okay with the fact of growing up and moving on. Book series don’t last forever. Rainbow Rowell did an exceptional job and I will definitely be looking into her other books.

I would recommend this book to anyone with a love of romance, almost a coming of age (I’ll figure out what I want to call it), and fangirls. Because Cath is the definition of a fangirl.

So, I’m going to go and fangirl over this some more and catch up on some z’s. If you’ve read Fangirl I hope you enjoyed it like I did. And if you haven’t maybe I convinced you 😉

Goodnight, xx.

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

