The Elite (The Selection, #2)

 

It wasn’t like I made his world better. It was like I was his world. It wasn’t some explosion; it wasn’t fireworks. It was a fire, burning slowly from the inside out.

*spoilers inside the review*

Yeah, I’ve finished the sequel already.

Can I be honest? I may have had some problems and doubts with The Selection, but The Elite definitely kept me on my toes. I think my problem was the negative reviews I read let me be doubtful about the first one. This one, though, was awesome. Yeah I hated some of Americas decisions, okay a lot but I’ll get into that later, and I wanted to punch a few people but I enjoyed it so much.

OOOOOOHHHH MAXON. More definitely became revealed of him throughout this book. I just wanted to, ah, just hug him. He reminded me of so many people: Warner from Shatter Me, Kai from Cinder just a little for that one. and (oh crap I had it earlier!!) another really awesome prince from another book… I hate forgetting what you’re going to say. Anyway, I do love Maxon. He was adorable in this and… just awesome. I am a sucker for the princes in books.

 

I really wanted to punch America in this book. There were many times I sat there and wanted to scream REALLY? THAT’S WHAT YOU’RE GOING TO DO? But I also had those moments where I sat and smiled stupidly at the book. No joke one time my mom was like: What are you smiling and laughing at? And I’m like pssh nothing, Mom. But in reality I was seriously enjoying those Maxica… Ameron… parts! America definitely was stronger in this book. She was ballsy. Seriously. But she also had many less daring parts… SPOILERS AHEAD… you are warned.

 

SPOILER:

 

When Marlee got CANED in front of EVERYONE and America tried to stop it… She STILL goes after Aspen in secret. Even I found myself saying dang I hope she gets caught. Even though if she did get caught she won’t end up with Maxon.

 

END OF SPOILER.

 

America definitely kept too much to herself. Then when she does tell the truth she lets too much out. You who have read it know what I’m talking about.

Aspen… oh Aspen. Leave. I don’t want you here. You’re only the reminder of her old life. He was planting lies into her head to get her to doubt Maxon so she wouldn’t go for him instead. I wanted to scream DON’T LISTEN TO HIM for the longest. There isn’t actual evidence that he was lying to her but I know Maxon to know that he was just bending the odds in his favor. I want to kick Aspen out of this series so I hope he does something even more unforgivable than a broken heart. Because dang America bounced back fast to him after that. (I still hate how that was handled)

 

The Elite definitely gave more details to the history of the country. How America went from USA to ASC to Illea. We learned more about the founder (selfish douche) and why things are ran. We also learned more about these rebels. And to be honest I’m on their side. The caste system doesn’t work unless it’s in India. But they believe in reincarnation and moving up in your next life so people are content ish. (I hope I’m right about that… if not correct me 🙂 )  (i also hope not to offend any ones beliefs or religion) It’s not a plausible way to run things unless, of course, it’s in your favor. Which it was for Mr. Illea himself.

 

I definitely give this book 5/5 stars. It kept me on my toes and smiling most of the way. I am so very excited for The One and am about to head off to Target for it. So I’ll see you on the flip side 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

