The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy, #1)

 

And everything would only become more difficult.

This was why he wanted her to love him, because love was the only force that could compel him onto this path— and hold him to it.

This book was pretty good even though it took me a month to get through it. I’m still unsure what kept me from finishing it, but right now I think it was a block. Anyways, the second book came out on September 2 and the reviews are way better. So I can’t wait until my library gets this in.

The characters were interesting. Titus was hard to get used to but I loved watching him change from the beginning of the book to the last page. He started out as a prince who only followed what his mother laid out for him in her visions. He was a jerk, purposefully, in front of everyone as a facade and rarely let people in. At the end of the book, he was more open and willing to change certain things.

Iolanthe was a stubborn, hardheaded teenager who refused to apart of any prophecy. I kind of liked that about her. Rather than most characters who accept their fates with little fight and succeed with flying colors, Iolanthe refuses until she has to depend upon Titus and is literally bound by blood to help him. Even then she is barely able to master her last element, air. She struggles with the magical side of her abilities but fits in easily as a regular human, blending in at an all boys’ school in 19th century England.

More than anything, she was willing to do whatever it took to help her guardian, Haperilous seaywood. After all, love conquers all.

That seemed to be a theme throughout the book and I can’t wait to see if these relationships blossom in the sequel: The Perilous Sea. The cover is GORGEOUS and I really want my library to have it in stock now. But, alas, I must wait.

 

Overall, I give The Burning Sky 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

