Eve and Adam (Eve & Adam, #1)

 

Just when Eve thinks she will die – not from her injuries, but from boredom—her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

*spoilers inside review*

Okay, this book was really short and easy to get through. 291 pages against the last book I read was nothing. But this book also barely held my attention. The ONLY reason I picked up this book was because of my school’s Sequoyah List. (If you’re unfamiliar, it’s basically a book contest where we school children get to vote for our favorites. Links here: Sequoyah ) Last year I attended my school’s little party for it (Free pizza, cookies, and books?

Fist pump ) So if you read the most/all you get a free book (on top of the others we get thrown into a drawing for.) So I suffered through this book and here is my review.

I’m not kidding you, this was me as I finished this book:

WTF

WTF part2

Like if I could have thrown it out the window, I would have. But then I would have had to buy a new window. The big “plot twist” that occured nearly 3/4 into the book was so obvious from page 10 that I was just waiting for it to come rather than being shocked.

annoyed

These characters were so strictly 2D that I could not feel any emotions towards them. Eve’s mother, Terra Spiker (nicknamed “Terror” Spiker by Solo), was just your basic, bitchy boss lady who does not give a darn what anyone thinks. On top of that, it was so jammed into my head my the characters that I was just whatever. This book is one of those books that switch narratives each chapter and I could not tell between who was who. They were so alike and unoriginal that half the time I thought Eve was Solo and vice versa. Not so good when all the sudden the chapter doesn’t make the sense you thought it would.

Eve was definitely the one who changed the most throughout the book. And I can’t tell you when she did. She literally just changed at the snap of a finger. Or rather the click of a USB. She was so determined and sometimes how she acted was five steps ahead of where her head was and where the narrator was talking. But she wasn’t all bad. She had her moments. They were far and few between, but she was okay.

Solo was alright. I usually love the guys in a story, but I could not even get close to liking him. He seemed so full of himself sometimes and then other times he just was… unoriginal. Unfortunately he acted a lot like Eve. And, SPOILER, he fell so madly in love with her in between like two conversations.

The romance was so unrealistic and cheesy. These two authors need to work on building a relationship rather than forcing it down the reader’s throat.

I do have to give props to the dystopian factor of this book. Though it wasn’t a dystopian. A dystopian business, maybe. But not a world. The outside world was utterly normal and it wasn’t too far off in the future. The laws against what Biopharm was doing was never fully explained, just assumed.

The book had a really good idea it just wasn’t executed the way it could have been. Instead it was a cheesy, teenage book that I just rolled my eyes at like a hundred times.

Overall I give it 2.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

