The Taking (The Taking, #1)

 

One night, I kept insisting while my head and my throat ached. My dad and I had had an argument, and I’d run off to have a few minutes to myself—that was all. I must’ve wandered until I’d fallen asleep. At the Gas ’n’ Sip. Behind the Dumpster.

One damn night. Not five long years.

I was lucky enough back in May this year to go to this really awesome panel of four authors (Kiera Cass, Kimberly Derting, Danielle Paige, and Kelley Armstrong) and hear about their most recent books. I read The Selection this summer (check out the July tab in archives for the review 🙂 ) and I loved it. This book was one that I’ve been wanting to read but I didn’t want to put $15 down for it if I didn’t love it. Then I pulled out my kindle last weekend and its was $2! So I have low self-control when it comes to book bargains and I bought it. This book pulled me out of my slump and gave me the feels.

Throughout the whole book I couldn’t help but compare it to Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Origin, ESPECIALLY after I hit part two. So naturally the whole time I was fangirling.

Lately, I’ve been into alien books, sci fi books and movies. This one was a different taking on the whole alien idea (pun intended). For months I’ve been intrigued by the idea that a girl could be taken by a bright light then dropped, exactly the same, five years later. But there were sometimes I felt that the author did not do a good enough job of explaining it. But next year the sequel comes out so yay!

I really liked how she spent half the book getting the reader to know Kyra and get into her mind. One of the problems I had with a book I read a couple months ago, Eve and Adam, was the fact the book jumped immediately into the action of the story and the character’s behaviors that should have been weird/normal weren’t because I did not know how they acted before it all happened. On the flip side, some people hated how she dragged out the romance between Kyra and Tyler (which I’ll get to later :P) and waiting until halfway through to even get to answers and all that jazz. But I enjoyed it because as a reader I got to see this is how she was before this event and this is her life now and then what she acted life when she found out the cause/consequences of that event.

As I read other reviews on Goodreads, this was one thing that many people kind of came together and agreed on. I couldn’t get over the slightly creepy nature of Kyra and Tyler’s relationship. When Kyra was taken, Tyler was 12. Not even a teenager. And when she came back he was a grown up, gorgeous 17 year old that she nearly immediately swooned for. I liked Tyler, don’t get me wrong, but I couldn’t really ever get into their relationship. The whole time I was like five years is a lot. But they had their moments. Maybe in the sequel I can grow used to it and maybe even root for them, but for now I’ll just be okay with it.

*Slight Spoiler*

People like to Kyra selfish. They say she’s selfish because she’s upset that her mom remarried and had a kid, her dad is now total opposite of what he used to be, and her old boyfriend moved on with her best friend. I don’t call her selfish, I understand. To Kyra, it’s been a day since everything was normal. So she had a few hours to accept a new family, a dad that doesn’t act the same is on the crazy side a bit, and a boyfriend who just moved on with someone close to her. Even though her mind knows what’s going on, her heart is still a few steps behind feeling betrayed. I can just understand where she’s coming from because honestly, some of us would act the same way. It would be hard not to.

Overall, this book was pretty good. I got really into it then by the end I could feel it dragging and almost could predict what was happening (mainly because the cosmic sized similarities to the other book I’ve read). But I did like it.

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

