Between the Spark and the Burn (Between, #2)

Freddie used to say that Life could be safe, or it could be interesting, but it couldn’t be both.

*review may contain spoilers*

Well I finished this series. And I’m not even sure where to begin.

This book was definitely different from the first. I’m not sure which one I enjoyed more, I think I’ll need more time to reflect before I make that decision. This book was haunting, almost. The writing had this way of making everything feel eerie. Sometimes it felt forced to me but most of the time it seemed to echo.

I thought I had this book pegged. When I bought it and read the description I thought I know exactly how this will go out. And the thing is, it didn’t. It didn’t go like any book really. I kept making predictions and I can’t remember exactly but I think one of my first ones eventually was right. Tucholke took the way I wanted it to go and steered it in another direction.

I liked it. Of course I wish it had gone the way I thought it would, everyone loves a happy ending. And the ending wasn’t bad, not at all. It wrapped up the loose ends and left room for you to wonder what could happen next. It left room for imagination and I love books like that. But it also left me feeling empty. In some way some of the characters died to me. They changed because of the circumstances that happened to them so they weren’t the same as the first book. And I think that’s why I’m staring at my ceiling, writing this, and trying to figure out why I’m so damn sad over this book that didn’t really give me a reason to mourn the ending. It was an almost happy ending. (If you read it you’ll understand.)

There was a lot to this book. A lot seemed to happen but also nothing at all. I’m very conflicted on my emotions because of the ending. Usually the ending leaves me with a clear emotion, anger or happiness, but this one leaves me with both. And I can’t say which is winning.

My next book to pick up, or rather finish I’m about fifty pages in, is Clockwork Princess. But I’m not sure how much more emotional tolls I can take at the hands of a book tonight so I may pick up Dragon Marked or something.

Update:

As I was reading other reviews I realized what made this book leave me so unsettled. While I love books that leave room for imagination, this book leaves too much. It feels like there should be a third but there isn’t. You just almost feel like there isn’t an ending and it’s unfinished. But I honestly still loved the book even with these weird emotions I’m still having 11 days later.

4/5 stars.

One thought on “Between the Spark and the Burn (Between, #2)

Leave a Reply

