Every Last Breath (The Dark Elements, #3)

 

The kiss was almost too powerful, too primitive. It ripped open the ball of dread that rested low in my belly, because it was the kind of kiss wrought from the fear of losing someone, and that made our situation all the more real.

It made what I had done all the more painful.

GUYS THIS IS THE FIRST TIME FOR ME TO WRITE A REVIEW FOR EVERY BOOK IN A SERIES (longer than two books…).

Okay, I had to get that out. I’m proud of myself. I started this blog late into my book obsessions so many of these reviews are the last one or two in a series and I’m excited that I made it here and that I could post this.

This book was so good. It took me a while to finish, but the truth of it is the book lulls for a while and then it hits you out of nowhere and gets so good.

I mean I was on page 190 something at noon and I knocked it out before dinner. It hit me out of nowhere. I won’t give any indication as to who she chose, but I was very happy with her decision. Good thing, too, because I’m already upset about the change of covers. It made up for it.

The one thing I will say is she chose early on in the book so it gave plenty of time for the actual plot of the book to set in, which I loved. There was none of that mulling over which boy as she tries to fight the end of whatever it is, and then when it’s over you have that just dragged out decision and the the consequences of it. Layla chose early and then we got to dive into the Lilin, Lilith, and everything about Layla and what she really is. I mean this book got so awesome at the second half.

(And yes, you can bet that while I’m writing this I’m listening to “Paradise City” missing Layla and crew)

Seriously, this book had me laughing a lot. I enjoyed so much of it that I now wonder why it took me so long to finish. I haven’t laughed at a book in so long, it was good to be so involved I forgot about the real world and that I wasn’t Layla fighting demons and Wardens. Although that does sound pretty cool compared to packing for college.

Layla became a strong female lead in this book and did whatever she wanted and did not let anyone tell her otherwise. It was good to see that in a book. So many times now females are whiny and weak and step aside to let the boys do their bidding. Layla did do some whining but it didn’t stop her. She trudged on and did what she felt was right. Props to you Layla.

With the end of this book is also the end of, possibly, me reading any other JLA book. I absolutely love her as an author and her writing, but her book covers keep changing and I think that it’s a good time to branch out and find other authors. For now, I’ll reminisce on the Lux Series and The Dark Elements and possibly pick Clockwork Princess back up. Maybe even try to knock that one out before I leave next week. But probably not. It’ll probably end up with me in my dorm.

5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

