Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)

 

Tessa craned her head back to look at Will. “You know that feeling,” she said, “when you are reading a book, and you know that it is going to be a tragedy; you can feel the cold and darkness coming, see the net drawing tight around the characters who live and breathe on the pages. But you are tied to the story as if being dragged behind a carriage and you cannot let go or turn the course aside.” His blue eyes were dark with understanding — of course Will would understand — and she hurried on. “I feel now as if the same is happening, only not to characters on a page but to my own beloved friends and companions. I do not want to sit by while tragedy comes for us. I would turn it aside, only I struggle to discover how that might be done.”

“You fear for Jem,” Will said.

“Yes,” she said. “And I fear for you, too.”

“No,” Will said, hoarsely. “Don’t waste that on me, Tess.”

*review contains spoilers*

I knew what I was getting into when I picked up the Infernal Devices series. I knew people’s reactions to the end of the series, and while maybe it should’ve warned me it only intrigued me.

This book to me a long time to finish, and now that I’m done I wish I never did.

It wasn’t that the book was bad, it was good. It was that the ending sucked immensely. For me, at least. I felt like I was being stuck with another ending like How I Met Your Mother. Anyone that’s seen that show, and feels the way I do, will understand.

What I will say, though, is that this is the first book to render me to tears. And I don’t mean the tearing up you get at sad movies, or when that animal shelter commercial comes on. This was full out crying. The second Clare unloaded certain information on me at the end, I just started crying. Which was impressive because I didn’t think I would when I got to the epilogue. Hell, I should’ve skipped the epilogue altogether and just stayed where everything made me feel happy and good. Instead, I’m left feeling sad, angry, and empty.

I will give Clare for getting such emotions out of me. She’s the first author to do that, and that’s pretty impressive. But aside from that, I was extremely disappointed in the ending.

Overall, the book was pretty good. I got the answers to everything I had questions about from the previous books. The story kept me on the edge of my seat when it was supposed to and it had good character development.

A lot of my feelings I had for the book Pre-Epilogue have been overtaken or overshadowed by how the end made me feel. It’s quite obvious that I’m a Will-Tessa shipper. And if you’ve read the book and know what the ending is then please highlight with your cursor to view the following thoughts on it (Warning: massive spoilers for the ending):

 

In the epilogue we all know that Will died. His death wasn’t something that happened unexpectedly, or while he was young, he lived a long life but still when she started remembering the last bit of his life I just started crying. Actual crying. Ugly crying. Then of all things that would happen, Jem shows back up into her life, with a cure, and then they resume their relationship not quite like nothing happened over the last century and a half but they did pick up where they left off. I just was not a fan. Because of the ending, I am docking it a star. Because the ending bothered me and killed me. 

I will keep this review short and sweet out of fear that this could turn into my weekly rantings about the book instead of one that looks at it objectively.

Overall, Clare did an amazing job wrapping up the series. I was really happy with most of what happened in the last one hundred pages. The character development of Gabriel was one of my favorites. Honestly, if the end hadn’t left me with a foul taste in my mouth, then this book would have 5/5 stars. But, alas I am only giving it 4/5. And maybe one day I’ll finish the Mortal Instrument series, too.

 

4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

