Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)

 

Even in the future the story begins with Once Upon a Time.

It’s been more than a year since I have originally read this series. When I did read the first three, this blog wasn’t a thought and I hadn’t really started writing reviews. Now here I am, a year and a half later, re-reading the series in preparation for the highly anticipated conclusion, Winter. 

I just finished re-reading Cinder and it brought back so much that I had forgotten over time. And it brought back how much I love this series. So I figured, I’d try and write a review and complete the series because I’m sure there will be a review for Winter. I just have to make sure that I keep my knowledge to strictly Cinder 😁.

Okay what brought this entire obsession on was a trip to Half Price Books in April 2014. I had a gift card and no book prospects and I just wanted something, anything to read. There at the bottom was Cinder and I recognized it because I had seen it around school and the library before. Even better, it was only $5. I was desperate, thought what the hell and bought the book. Honestly, from the description it seems like this book could have potential but would be flop with poor attempts at sci-fi and tying a fairy-tale in making it just an awful book. Wrong, wrong, wrong wrong wrong!

Marissa Meyer expertly crafts a sci-fi mixed with a classic fairy-tale novel and series. I was truly shocked with how good this book was for me. There was never a point in the book where I felt like it was utterly cheesy, and poor world and technology building, or character development. Everything was so believable.

It’s so easy to think that it would be awful, so many books (Ahem, Eve and Adam) have failed the futuristic-technology-twist-on-an-old-tale-or-story and failed. I tried to get my friend to read Cinder because she loved The Selection and was dying for a new series. I suggested Cinder because I loved Prince Maxon almost as much as I love Prince Kai. She said no because she thought it sounded dumb. Which, for me, is good because it sort of, not really, keeps people away from this story and prevents it from becoming too mainstream and popular. Even though I suggest it to everyone I meet and just scream about it all the time. I love this series.

Everything about this story is so believable and real. I love the characters so much. Iko (Cinder’s android), Cinder, Kai (falls over on the ground in joy), and Iko and Kai some more. Iko is a lovable android that has such a human, stereotypical girl personality. I find myself forgetting that she isn’t human while I read. She’s so funny and quirky and excitable and loyal. She’s every girl’s best friend. Cinder, a cyborg and our Cinderella, is very conscious of the fact she has a metal foot and leg. She is very shy, but strong willed, and loving, and down-to-earth. She hates that she is a cyborg but it’s what makes her so special and unique (well that and something else, you’ll see when you read). Her cyborg parts are instrumental in the storyline and discovering certain things about stuff (yep, that was pretty vague.). Oh, Kai. Prince Kaito. Or just Kai. I like Kai. He’s so normal for a prince. And he’s so adorable. He is determined and hard-headed but puts the needs of his country before his own. Which always makes a good leader. What isn’t there to love about him? (more on that in the Scarlet review…)

Not only does Meyer create these lovable characters, she creates this complex world that has hidden eggs planted that become relevant and related later on in the series (hint, hint, wink, wink. Sorry.). Prince Kai is the son of Emperor Rikan in the Eastern Commonwealth in New Beijing. Set in a futuristic world that has changed much since the Fourth World War and they have amazing technology. Technology that allows them to create cyborgs and androids and hovercrafts. The world is complex and she is detailed about how things work as they come up. Cinder is a renowned mechanic and she does a good job at detailing parts of the hovercrafts and androids and even within Cinder’s own mechanical body parts. It’s all very fascinating. Also the technology she mentions in the book is amazing. My favorite is Cinder’s retina display. She has cyborg parts within her brain that gives her features such as an orange light if someone is lying, and it monitors her body temperature, and it has connection to the internet. It’s like Google Glass for her brain. It’s neck in neck to the contacts that people wear in the Under the Never Sky trilogy for favorite technology that I wish I had.

All of this just touches what goes on Earth, there is still the moon to account for. In this series, Earthens have also colonized the moon. The people who live there are called Lunars and they, over time, have developed a talent (for lack of a better word) to manipulate people’s brain waves to make you see what they want. It’s called glamour and it’s hella cool.

Again, more on that later.

Only a week to go until Winter and I still have two books to read. I can do this!

5/5 Stars

Cover photo retrieved from x

Leave a Reply

