Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)

 

“I knew they would kill me when they found out, but…” He struggled for words, releasing a sharp breath. “I think I realized that I would rather die because I betrayed them, than live because I betrayed you.”

Winter came out today and I just finished Scarlet. I’m so excited to get through Cress so I can finally start on Winter. It’s sitting on my shelf and taunting me. I want to read it so awfully bad, but there is so much in Cress I can’t remember.

Alright, real review time.

In Scarlet, Meyer introduces so many new characters. I remember when I first looked into the sequel I was hesitant because it didn’t mention much about Cinder at all. I thought that Scarlet was the main character and we would leave Cinders story where it left off in the first book. It’s nothing like that. It is a combination of all the POVs, and I love it. You get to know and love all the characters (except the villain, who we love to hate). Even better, Cinder’s secret is out and I get to talk about it with you guys. That’s the best part.

This story starts off with a French farmer’s granddaughter being the focal point of the story, and the namesake, Scarlet. Scarlet is our red riding hood (don’t you just love the fairy tale connections? I do) in this series. She is stubborn, tough, and feisty. She spends most of the story searching for her Grandmother who mysteriously disappeared a few weeks ago. Scarlet lives in Rieux, France and she lives on a farm where she grows produce and sells it to restaurants around town. When she goes to drop off an order she meets another new character, Wolf.

Wolf,  he is a bit of a wild card at first but once you get to know him and really settle into the story, I think anyone would love him. He is quite the character and he reminds me of another character from another book but I can’t place my finger on it.

[Captain] Carswell Thorne is another character we get to meet at the beginning of the book when we swing back around to Cinder’s part of the story. He is a wanted felon and he meets Cinder in prison while she is trying to escape prison and the impending execution from Queen Levana. Thorne is so lovably arrogant. He becomes like Cinders right hand man and he takes huge pride in his, stolen, ship and being called Captain. He is like a futuristic Captain Jack Sparrow.

Cinder, oh Cinder. We found out something pretty huge about our futuristic Cinderella. Cinder is actually the missing, wanted, Lunar Princess Selene. The one that is the only hope to take down Queen Levana’s rule. Cinder has a hard time coming to terms with this, but I did too. Honestly I also found myself thinking of Princess Selene as a different entity instead of her really being Cinder. This twist of events has me wondering if she tries to take down Levana’s rule, will the Lunars accept her as Princess/Queen with her cyborg parts? Questions that are dying to be answered in Cress or Winter.

This story starts to bring in pieces of information that were vague in the first book, Cinder’s background, and opens up new questions for the rest of the series to answer. We learn so much about Cinder and how Scarlet is tied into it all. It is action-packed from a little over halfway to the end and leaving you wanting more. Thankfully, now, the rest are out so there is no wait to devour the next book, Cress.

I have hopes to start Cress tonight and finish it by Friday, at least. Leaving this weekend the perfect time to start Winter.

All in all, I’ll be extremely sad to part with this series and its characters because I’ve grown so fond of them over the last year and a half. So there’s not too much rushing me to get to the end of it all. I’m not exactly ready to say goodbye to them yet.

5/5 stars

Cover photo retrieved from x

Leave a Reply

