Oblivion (Lux, #1.5)

 

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

*please only read the review if you’ve read Obsidian. I will talk about the events in that book and so if you do not like spoilers, then don’t read this review until you have*

Oh. My. God.

Most people when they see that an author is releasing another book of a series in a different POV they groan and roll their eyes and mutter something about wanting more money. I’m usually one of those people, but for the Lux series, I will make an exception.

I’m a huge Daemon Black fan and so this book is everything I’ve dreamed of and more. So far I have only read the paperback version of Oblivion so I have only experienced Obsidian in Daemon POV. For the other two books there will most likely be another review.

Anyway, this book showed me so so so much. So many questions that I didn’t know I had were answered. There were things in there that might have been suspicious but actually end up playing a big role in the rest of the series (of which I’ll go into).

Many people will probably scoff at JLA for releasing this book, but it’s the best Christmas gift I could have ever received.

In Obsidian, Daemon Black comes off as a major jerk. Like douche-tastic (as I’m sure Katy would put it). And we don’t really know why. He just rambles on about how she is different and why Kat can’t be friends with Dee. And he is excessively rude. He just always says the wrong things and he never seems to have any remorse over it. Then at the end, a switch seems to flip and Daemon all of the sudden wants to date Katy and talks about how he is attracted to her. And we’re still like what the heck dude, I’m getting whiplash from your mood swings. But we still love him.

All of this changes in Oblivion. He is still the jerk, but we get the reasons behind why he is the jerk. And we get to see that he doesn’t just “flip a switch” and starts drooling all over Kat because of “alien mojo”. Nope, his attraction for her is more deeply rooted than I initially thought reading through the series from Kat’s POV.

Daemon, though seems to be the biggest jerk in the galaxy, is actually really caring and will do anything for his family. Even if that means trying to be a jerk to get Kat to stay away from him and Dee for her and their safety. This book showed me a whole other side to the Daemon Black I knew and loved. And it just made me love him even more. Daemon is bae all the way.

Every time that he says something to anger Kat, or hurt her (usually unintentionally) he knows he’s being a jerk and he hates doing it. And that’s something that I didn’t think he had when reading the books in Kat’s POV. And the entire time that he is doing all of these things, he’s clearly attracted to Katy and he tries to suppress it because of Dawson. And he tries very hard. He tries everything to keep her away and even his best intentions (albeit hurtful) just bring Kat closer into his world.

I’m very, very excited to read the next two books in his POV. And it won’t take long. I started paperback Oblivion yesterday afternoon and finished it tonight. In two sittings.

It made me realize how much I miss this series and how much I’ve missed the characters. It’s really nice to seem them again in a different light than I’m used to seeing them in (ahem, Daemon). Even though he gets better as the series goes on.

Unfortunately, I probably won’t get to read the next two for a few days. Up next on my TBR pile is Red QueenRQ was supposed to wait until closer to the release of the sequel, but an old librarian friend works at a bookstore now and she has an ARC of the Glass Sword. Yes, I’m actually screeching. I’ve never ever had an ARC of anything and I’m so lucky to get to read it. Unfortunately, I will not be allowed to post anything about the book until the actual release date, so my feelings on the book will be released in February.

All in all, I’m very happy and thankful JLA gave us Daemon fans more of him to read. I don’t know how I survived without this book before.

Have a happy holidays!

 

5/5 stars

 

 

Cover photo retrieved from x

Leave a Reply

