City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)

 

“I don’t care,” Clary said. “He’d do it for me. Tell me he wouldn’t. If I were missing-”
“He’d burn the whole world down till he could dig you out of the ashes. I know,” Alec said.

So I did something that I should have done two and a half years ago when I started this series. I finally read/finished City of Lost Souls.

I had no interest in reading this book for a while because I was very disappointed by City of Fallen Angels that I didn’t have the will to read it. Even with the cliffhanger that Clare leaves us with in COFA. Last week when my family was in town my cousin was talking to me about this book and how everything I wanted to know happened pretty close to the beginning.

Then I did something that is never a good idea. I picked this book up at 2 am in the morning. And I got hooked.

This book only took three sittings to finish. Quite frankly, I’m upset I didn’t finish this when I remembered all the details from the first four books. I was confused many times in this book because I forgot circumstances that happened previously.

COLS actually reinforced my faith in the Mortal Instruments series. This series should have ended with City of Glass but it didn’t. Since COFA, I have been skeptical of it, but this book made me fall back in love with everyone again.

If I’m being completely honest the only couple, and perhaps characters, that I really care about is Jace and Clary.

Jace was definitely not himself in this book. While sometimes being himself. He is still the arrogant Shadowhunter we love, but there is definitely something off about him.

One of the many things that I am happy about is that I read the Infernal Devices before reading this. I cannot tell you how many times they mentioned the Herondale lineage or Will Herondale or Brother Zachariah (you’ll know who he is if you’ve read Clockwork Princess) showed up or a book actually belonged to Will. It ended with me wanting some comfort food and tissues because of the awful ending of Clockwork Princess.

Clary was the same as ever. She was daring and went in and did whatever she wanted without thinking most of it through and saving her loved ones a priority. I’ve always like Clary, much like how I liked Katy Swartz. Their significant other’s always want to protect them and keep them out of things but they always fight and insist that they can protect themselves. Which they can. Especially Clary. I really love strong female leads and Clary doesn’t disappoint.

COLS centers around more characters than I remembered it did. We get to see into the lives of Jocelyn and Luke, Maia and Jordan (both of whom I do not remember being mentioning. A downside to the length of time between books), and Simon and Isabelle. Oh, and Magnus and Alec. AKA the couple that everyone cares about most, aside from Jace and Clary.

It was nice to see all these characters again and catch up with them. Though I feel like I need more catching up before I start Heavenly Fire

Clare did a really good job at tricking me in this book and questioning my own loyalties to characters in this book. I wasn’t sure who to trust, who was telling the truth, and what to do with the information given. This book never lulled and I didn’t feel like she was just rambling to make the book longer. The only topics I semi-skimmed over were the ones that were the lovey-dovey couple scenes that I didn’t really care about because I don’t ship them and I just wanted to get back to the story.

Clare was good at getting this story back up to yeah-continuing-wasn’t-that-bad-of-an-idea territory instead of oh-god-you-should’ve-stopped-while-you-were-ahead. I might even read Lady Midnight when it releases. I’m not sure yet though. She has plans for 18 books total in the Shadowhunter world and that is a lot of books.

All in all, I really loved it. I really enjoy the Mortal Instruments and hopefully ABC Family does the TV show justice. (I don’t have that much faith though)

 

5/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

