The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1)

 

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.
“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

OH. MY. GOD.

THIS BOOK ACTUALLY KILLED ME.

I picked this book up and it had been one i saw on goodreads many times and I debated on reading it. I didn’t know how good it would be.

I also didn’t know how many pages the book truly is.

On goodreads it says that it is 404. This is true. But that includes the glossary and the acknowledgements AND an excerpt of the Rose and the Dagger. So I finished this book before I was ready to accept the ending. And so I’m sitting here dealing with all of these emotions I didn’t know I would have after this book.

Renee Ahdieh has me absolutely hooked. The book starts off from the get go. But the first few chapters are very vague and a little confusing. But I promise you after those first 3, you will struggle to put it down.

I fell hard for this book. Really hard. Which was good because I had fear after Red Queen that it wouldn’t live up to the hype and that I would be just as disappointed as I was in Red Queen.

Nope. Wrath and the Dawn lives up to what everyone has been saying. (I hate to add to the hype but I have nothing but praise for this book)

I fell hard and fast for Khalid, too. Khalid is our monstrous boy-king. Our murderer. But he is so much more. After the prologue, even before I picked up the book, I knew I would love Khalid. Everyone is so quick to hate him in the book, but like any main character, there’s more to tell than what appears. He is a new favorite of mine and I cannot get enough of him.

Shahrzad is a badass main character. She is mouthy, stubborn, and curious. I absolutely loved her. She had me laughing many time throughout the book with her witty remarks and retorts. She was definitely what Khalid needed and I really enjoyed reading about her. She battles with herself for most of the book over many things and she develops a little bit through the book. At the beginning, she sees the world as strictly black and white. That is not how any world works ever. She finally realizes nothing is easily sorted into two neat categories, and she discovers the world of grey that lies behind every decision.

Despina was also one of those characters that I loved. She was the perfect feminine friend that Shahrzad needed. She met every stubborn move, every remark, and really helped Shazi through the book.

I was mistrusting of a few characters but in the end they proved to be trustworthy.

This book, though has the backdrop and potential to be a full blown fantasy, is a romance. But it doesn’t feel like a cheesy, gooey romance. It got me from the first time we see Khalid’s amber eyes and didn’t let me go.

It does, though, have magic in it and I think that in the sequel (unfortunately it is only a duology) the magic side of things will be much more front and center than it is in Wrath.

Regardless of how much I loved this book, I am sitting here with unsettled feelings because of the sudden ending. Well not sudden, I just expected to have 30 more pages than I really had which was 18.

Wrath left me wanting, needing, the sequel. I want to get my grabby hands on an ARC. I need this sequel more than I’ve needed one in a long time. It’s going to be a VERY long wait until May.

 

 

5/5 Stars.

 

P.s. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would.

Leave a Reply

