Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)

For a storm is certainly coming, whether by my hand or someone else’s. And I have no idea who will survive to see the dawn.

This series is one for me that is peculiar because I didn’t love it the way I thought I would.  And it’s been a long time since I didn’t like a series that everyone loves. The last series that I felt the way I do now is Throne of Glass. And I still haven’t picked up Heir of Fire.

I realized my problem with the series and that problem is named Mare. When the main character annoys you in a certain way, it’s hard to enjoy it as much as you could. Do not get me wrong, this book and series has many plot twists and events that usually have me screaming but the book just lacked the ability to get it out of me.

Mare is so annoying. She has this thing where she doesn’t think about the people who have died by her hand or by the ripple of her actions. I get it, it would be hard to do what needs to be done when you think about the deceased, but it got to the point where I was thinking “okay Mare. You are dehumanizing these people.” It just rubbed me wrong the way she thought about things. There is this awesome moment Cal has with Mare where he just finally tells her everything she does that she thinks is ok and I was actually yelling “YES CAL THANK YOU THAT NEEDED TO BE SAID.” I really hope that Mare improves in the next few books because she is annoying.

This book lacks romance like it tried to have in the first book. With everything that happened with Mare and Cal, the betrayal runs deep but he still sticks around. For all the reasons in the world, I don’t know why.

We finally get a tidbit of the history of why there is a rift between Reds and Silvers, but it was passing and brief. I’d like for there to be more to it. Maybe someone comes across something. Anything to make this world feel more 3D instead of 2.

Another person that grated on my nerves almost as much as Mare was Kilorn. He sort of acts like a sulking child. He loves Mare, it’s so obvious from the start, but she doesn’t see him like that. And she’s too selfish to let anyone go.

Mare is an extremely selfish character and she doesn’t always see the wrong in it. At first, she had good idea and said that she wouldn’t be selfish about it and do what had been done to her, but that didn’t last too long.

 

I didn’t completely hate this book. It really did have moments where I was like finally, this is what I’ve been waiting for. I know if you loved Red Queen you will probably love this one.

Victoria Aveyard really is a good writer, but I just cannot seem to get into this series. I’ll stick around until the third one comes out, and do my re-reading in 2017 and see if it is different to me a year from now.

Until then, we get to wait for Glass Sword to officially release. I have a feeling that 2016 will be a good book year, like 2012, because many books are coming out and from what I’ve seen and poked around on, many authors are starting new series. Which is refreshing. I feel like I’ve been reading the same series for years. Don’t get me wrong, I love those series dearly, but I’m ready for something new. Like Wrath and the Dawn. I can’t wait to start that. I hope I don’t get sucked into the hype.

 

1/5 Stars.

Also, if you want to view the map of the Red Queen World click for the link in my review for Red Queen.

 

Featured Image retrieved from x

5 thoughts on “Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)

  1. Ana Karen (@ana_karenm) says:

    So glad to know I am not the only person that couldn’t get into the Throne of Glass series. I checked out all 4 books from the library because man people told me I would love it, and I just couldn’t get into it. It took me days to finish the first book, I haven’t read Glass Sword yet, so I don’t know yet how much I a going to like it or toss it across the room. I do remember reading Vampire Academy and hating the first book so much, and then just liking the second book enough to get me to read book 3. The difference with VA and Throne of Glass is that I liked a character (Christian Ozera) and none of the characters in Throne of Glass give me any kind of feels.

    Like

    • Sweetpea13 says:

      Exactly! I had two people telling me I would love Throne of Glass but I couldn’t get into it or love it like everyone else did. I haven’t made any attempts to pick up the 3rd. It’s disappointing because it’s such a popular series! But when it doesn’t work it doesn’t and forcing it doesn’t help. I haven’t tried Vampire Academy but I did watch the movie (nearly sacrilegious I know) and I couldn’t get into it so I’m not sure if I’ll ever try the book. Sometimes reading those really popular books runs a risk because of the hype it has with it.

      Like

  2. Angelspearl says:

    Glad to hear that Im not the only one who felt this way about Glass Sword. I really liked Red Queen but this book 2 had me tearing my hair out. And yes MARE needed a slap in the face more than once. I agree with you about that moment when Cal calls Mare out on her silly behaviour. I craved some romance in this book but it was just not happening. I almost gave up a few times but like you said i might hang about for book 3 and see if it will be much better. Well I do hope it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

