Waiting Wednesday

The wait is long, my dream of you does not end.

– Nuala O’Faolain

Waiting on books is probably the most bittersweet part of reading.

While the wait itself is no fun, it prolongs how long that series is in your life. It keeps it around for a while and you have something to look forward to. I know that if half the series I’ve read didn’t have a wait, I would’ve finished the entire thing in a week and never looked back. Series sticking around for a year or more keeps it close to my heart and I seem to get to know the characters better the longer that I’m waiting for them to be released into my hands once more.

But what I’m waiting for today isn’t for a book to be released but rather for me to finally pick it up. I bought Truthwitch by Susan Dennard two days after it was released at the beginning of January and now it’s the beginning of March and it still sits on my shelf. It took the backseat to many books and it took it again to one more: Legend. I hope that when spring break rolls around I can devote the week to sleeping and reading. The only two things that really matter.

Regardless, it is the middle of the week and I have a chill weekend to look forward to. I desperately need a break from the craziness of classes and relaxing for an entire week sounds beyond amazing.

 

Are there any books that you are waiting on?

Leave a Reply

