Prodigy (Legend, #2)

I want to run. To do what I always do, have always done, for the last five years of my life. Escape, flee into the shadows. But this time, I stand my ground. I’m tired of running.

This book is an emotional rollercoaster.

For more than half the book, I could not figure out which side I wanted to stand with. It fell perfectly into Second Book Syndrome, where the couple find opposing sides and they fight plenty with doubts of the relationship, and where it is the perfect filler between books. Regardless, I still loved it.

Lu was brilliant at making you question which side was good or bad. She made the story more complex than the classic/good bad. And it made me change my mind constantly. These books alternated POVs each chapter between June and Day. It was probably also because of the trust lost because of Blake from the Lux series. He really ruined any trust I had for any secondary character ever unless they proved to be trustworthy.

I even delightfully enjoyed meeting Anden again in this book. We were able to meet him and see his character develop even more. I was even starting to like him (and he even started to remind me of Warner from Shatter Me).

The story is fast paced as June and Day started to figure out where their loyalties laid as they teamed up with the Patriots to carry out and assassination plot on the Elector Primo. We even get to see multiple sides of the story of how their society got to where it is in the book. This really shows that Marie Lu has well thought out the world she has built. And as the first dystopia novel I’ve read in a while, this is the best dystopia world building I’ve seen in a long time. Lu really knows what she’s doing and it’s refreshing in a world of repetitive books that only seem to satisfy the readers with a couple choice worlds to replace an actual world building (sort of like Red Queen and The Selection).

June was still the badass she was in book one, but even better because of the choices she made. What’s great about her is she was trained by the Republic so while she might be their best prodigy, she is also their worst nightmare. She knows every move they’ll make and how to match it. She is incredibly calculating and analytical. She can guess everything through the tiniest of details that I could never catch.

Day is also just as intelligent as June, but in a different way. Another thing I learned about him in this book is that everyone loves Day. It’s a fact. Everyone does. Including me. I love him, he is definitely getting up there on my favorite character list.

My only big issue with that book was the ending (and it wasn’t even that it was a bad ending. It just threw such a curve ball ending that I almost cried). It had me screaming no, no, no! And made me glad that I don’t have to wait for the next book to be released. If one thing I now know to be true, in a world with books as popular as Divergent and the Hunger Games, these books are seriously underrated. Champion, here I come.

 

5/5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Prodigy (Legend, #2)

Leave a Reply

