Champion (Legend, #3)

“Sometimes, the sun sets earlier. Days don’t last forever, you know. But I’ll fight as hard as I can. I can promise you that.”

A great series comes to an even greater end.

This book, and series, exceeded all of my expectations. The Legend Series is a dystopia series and it was released right around the time when Hunger Games and Divergent and other series of the like were huge. Now, after the hype of dystopias has died down and the new fad is books featuring some type of King or Queen (at least I think that’s where all the popular books are centering around right now), this series still stood as a great series. Which is quite amazing because dystopias are more than overdone at this point and I didn’t think I’d be able to get into another one, but this one surprised me.

As I’ve mentioned in previous reviews of Prodigy and Legend, Marie Lu is a brilliant writer. The world she created was so real and there was no absolute good or bad side, just like in real life, each side had it’s downsides. The action did not stop in this book and there were times I was on the edge of my seat. After the shocking ending of ProdigyChampion had high stakes to compete with and it came through. The entire time my mind was constantly changing on how the book was going to end. It was constantly shifting and the way she did end it didn’t disappoint. Of course, I’d like it if it were expanded upon some more, but I think it was perfect for the series as a whole.

The development of the characters was one of the most interesting parts of the series. Thinking back to Day and June’s initial meeting, they have changed and grown into more mature young adults. They went from almost acting like the fifteen year olds they were to acting older than their age (but with the dependency of a nation on them it was important that they became more mature). I’m not going to lie, Day and June were less of a couple than they were a team in this book. There is romance in this book, but not so much or anything sappy that it distracted, or negatively affected, the action of the plot. Through all of the circumstances that happened in Legend, neither of them were really able to love each other wholly. And we got to see that, and it was understandable. It was one of the things that made the dynamics of their relationship real and interesting.

I was on the edge of my seat for the last hundred pages of the book wondering how in the world Lu was going to wrap up the book when there was still so much left to be said and done. I know the ending had many people crying and I would’ve cried had I not known what was coming. That being said, the ending was not a predictable ending and it showed that Lu is not a predictable writer. Even more so. She was able to take a very generic outline of a story and turn it into something so incredibly unique and full of twists and turns that it is nothing like the rest of its genre.

 

5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

