The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1)

“Everyone has darkness inside them, however hidden.”

After reading the Legend series and loving it I had to check out Marie Lu’s second trilogy: The Young Elites. I enjoyed it, but I didn’t completely fall for it immediately.

Lately, I’ve been in a constant revolving door of fantasy novels and this just so happened to be one. I thoroughly enjoyed the concepts and characters, but it won’t be a favorite series. After the cliff hanger of an ending I’ll definitely be picking up The Rose Society.

However, my absolute favorite part of this book is how the main character really jumps the line between good and evil constantly. Adelina constantly blurs that line. She wants to be good but things that happened to her throughout her life, prevent her from being good. She’s constantly at war with what she wants to be and who she is. And I love it.

Adelina was one of the few affected by the Blood Fever that swept through her nation many years before and survived. Even fewer came out with special powers. What marks these survivors varies from person to person, but they are considered as less than and if they are suspicious of an malfetto having powers they will be killed by the Inquisition.

Adelina discovers she has something, but the Dagger Society knew and found her to recruit her. The Dagger Society is a small group of malfettos with powers that are led by Enzo to overthrow the royal family and try to change the hatred of malfettos.

This book really let us get to know the characters and hopefully the next book will have a little more action and less training. Though I did hear that The Rose Society has a twist and that reminds me of the very big, and very unexpected, twist in Prodigy.

Once I get a refresher from fantasy, I look forward to picking up the next one.

 

4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

