Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper. I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him. He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him. Please touch me, is what I want to tell him.

This book is full of personifying things that have never really been personified before, so many lines striked through, and the overwhelming feeling of loneliness and self loathing.

Juliette Ferrars has a touch that kills and so she grew up like a plague, not even being loved by her own parents. She battles with hating herself and her skin and it comes out in the writing. The writing is repetitive at times which gives the feeling of anxiety and terror, when it needs to. I’ve seen a lot of reviews where they hate the writing, but I see it as a character quirk and how Tahereh Mafi uses it as another vehicle to show Juliette’s craziness. Although it is true, the writing style isn’t for everyone. But as someone who has read this series before, I encourage you to stick around for the second.

Shatter Me begins with Juliette in an, what we assume to be, an insane asylum where she is taken by the leader of the country’s son, Warner. While Warner wants her to utilize her powers  to destroy the rebels, she has Adam telling her to run.

SM definitely set up for the sequel in getting to know the main characters and giving them the motives to cause action in Unravel Me. My all time favorite character, though, is Kenji. He’s funny and lightens up the mood.

Honestly, this book is almost hard to re-read because of how much changes between the first and last book, which is why I encourage people to try and stick it out for Unravel Me at least. But no matter what, Mafi and these characters have my heart as this book continues to be a favorite.

 

4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

