A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2)

It takes only a split second for life to go horribly wrong. To fix the mess, I need a thousand things to go right. The distance from one bit of luck to the next feels as great as the distance across oceans. But, I decide in this moment, I will bridge that distance, again and again, until I win. I will not fail.

This book destroyed me.

Every single way I thought it might turn out, it went in a completely direction. This book completely ripped out my heart and tore it into shreds. But I loved every bit of it.

A Torch Against the Night picks up immediately where An Ember in the Ashes leaves off and it keeps up the pace throughout the book. I was so engrossed by the book I finished half of it the first day I got it.

Torch really dives into the fantasy side of the world more than Ember ever did. We find out so much more about Laia and Elias, but most importantly Helene. I didn’t have any strong feelings towards her in the book because I didn’t want her to be involved in some sort love triangle, but this book (for me) squashed any chances of any love triangles. Helene became a much bigger part of the story than I ever thought she would. And I’m actually starting to like her and her POV, and looking forward to how she is going to continue to develop in the next two books.

This book had some of the factors of Second Book Syndrome but it had enough plot developments to keep it from feeling like it was bridging gaps between books, which it so wasn’t. It was building more plots for the next books and keeping me riveted during every page.

To mention pages…. page 58 actually killed me. Honestly, this book hit the ground running with plot twists that had my head spinning.

I just want to mention one teeny, tiny minor spoiler that made me so happy… The scene with Elias and Mamie Rila warmed my heart I almost cried. It was much needed for Elias and I’m just so happy that he got to see her again. He needs the unconditional love that she gives him, because I love him so much and he needs to be protected.

That’s about all the minor spoilers I want to talk about, but the other bigger spoilers honestly made the book.

This book blew me out of the water and I cannot wait until 2018 to read the next book. Why, oh, why Sabaa does it have to be 2018?

Also, I get to meet Sabaa Tahir on Thursday because she’s coming really close to where I am so I get to ask her ALL the important questions and cry to her wondering why she had to hurt me so much.

 

5/5 Stars

 

Check out the review for An Ember in the Ashes here.

Leave a Reply

