Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)

“Hope.

It’s like a drop of honey, a field of tulips blooming in the springtime. It’s a fresh rain, a whispered promise, a cloudless sky, the perfect punctuation mark at the end of a sentence. And it’s the only thing in the world keeping me afloat.”

While this book gives me every bit of information I need to love Warner even more, Juliette is beyond annoying in this book.

Unravel Me falls perfectly into the second book syndrome. Juliette spends most of the time moping and feeling even worse for herself than she did in the first book, but thankfully the events at the end gives her a catalyst to change for the better in the next book.

My favorite, favorite, Warner shows up more in this book and we even get to know more about him. We also get to see how moody and brooding Adam is. A fact about him I forgot was so intense. And my favorite using-humor-to-break-tension user Kenji is a much bigger presence in this book. I forgot how much I loved him, too.

This book also focuses a little more on everyone’s powers, and which new developments there are in that. But it is still very much a romance with the backdrop of a dystopia. Tahereh Mafi gives us some information on the outside world, but Juliette still spends most of her time dreaming about Adam and liking hating Warner.

Unravel Me also leaves off in the best worst kind of cliffhanger. When I first read this book I didn’t know I was reading the last page and I flipped it to the next one and it was the acknowledgments. I threw my book because I couldn’t believe that was how the book was going to leave off on. Then I had to wait almost a year for Ignite Me to come out.

Regardless of Juliette’s annoying self-pity, this book hyped me up for the last one. Which is definitely my favorite of the three.

 

4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

