Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)

“No mourners,” he said with a grin.

“No funerals,” they replied in unison.

I’m late to this party since Crooked Kingdom has already been released a few weeks ago, but Six of Crows lived up to the hype I heard of it. Which luckily was very little because I kept my head in the sand until I started.

This book is most definitely a fantasy, but it is also much more than that. It had a complex world with very complex characters. Leigh Bardugo took great care of her characters and gave each one a complex background and they were all likeable, even if that meant they were unlikeable but you liked them because of how complicated their personalities were.

I had never read one of Bardugo’s books before, but I did know it is supposed to be set in the same Grisha universe as her other books. So it was fun finally getting to see what exactly these Grisha were that everyone had been talking about.

The plot centers around a high-stake heist lead by none other than Kaz Brekker, a character I had heard many people fan over. In Kaz’s ragtag team is Jesper, Wylan, Nina, Matthias, and Inej. (I think Inej and Lila from ADSOM would get along very well). Each character brought their own quirks and strengths to the book, and even though the book is written in third-person each one had a very distinct voice.

One of the things I wasn’t expecting from Six was the romance. And before anyone wonders if the romance ruins or takes focus of the book, it definitely does not. It’s used as an addition to the book and is sprinkled in the book conservatively.

I’m very excited to pick up the sequel (even more so because instead of black pages, they are red) and find out what happens after that ending! The only thing that is taking my review down from the full five stars is deserves is that when I read the last 60 pages, I wasn’t really into it so I wasn’t fully shocked by everything that happened. Rule of thumb: if you have less than 150-100 pages left until the end, just do it all at once!

 

4.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

