Arcana Rising (The Arcana Chronicles, #4)

Your future refuses to behave.

All I have to say after that ending is… wtf? But before I get to that, I’ll talk about everything leading up to it…

This book had me crying at least three times and my heart pounding every moment in between. I sat down and read this in one sitting, which honestly with the hardcover clocking in at 250 pages is nothing. This book broke my heart over and over. It was everything I needed until it wasn’t.

I loved the book and it started off really great. It picked up immediately where Dead of Winter left off and I was still panicked with everything that ending included. Especially with did Selena and Jack escaped Richters reach? (to get a review with my full thoughts including major spoilers head over to Goodreads). Evie began her journey with a vengeance and fear because she had no idea where anyone was. It was like Evie was alone in the world. And angry Evie got shit done. I even enjoyed the new card that was introduced in this book. Especially after reading about them in Day Zero it was fun to see them interact in real time.

Then the book took a turn. Kresley Cole took the story towards the romance path. I didn’t realize it as much when I was reading but as I continue to think about everything and how I feel about it…I’m not sure if I like where this story is heading. Especially after that ending that still has me reeling. The cliffhanger is more wtf? instead of ohmygod I need the next one now. I don’t like where she took that ending. I don’t like it at all. I am confused on where this series is headed. I hope that this ending doesn’t make Evie softer in the next book because I’d much rather read about a raging Evie than….what she kind of is at the ending of this book.

Also the worst part about getting attached to any Cards in this book is dealing with whether or not they are going to make it. This includes all the characters we met in Day Zero that I fell in love with but they were killed before Evie even entered the game.

I can’t really talk more about this book without spoiling anything so head over to my Goodreads review if you want the whole uncensored review. I had to dock my rating by a star because that ending doesn’t sit well with me.

4/5 Stars

 

Update: after this book and City of Fallen Angels I’m convinced 4th books are just lame filler books to get to the end. This book was so short and I am frustrated with how everything is playing out. I hope Cole turns this all around next book.

 

Update 11/21/16: I’m having one of the worst cases of book hangover ever and that ending is 100000% the reason why.

Leave a Reply

