Dear 2017…

 

You can get excited about the future. The past won’t mind.

It’s a new year with new resolutions. Every year I say the same old things: get healthy, be more organized, learn new hobbies, read morewrite morepost more, etc. Every year I start off strong and then…it’s suddenly December and I accomplished not nearly as much as I wanted to.

I can say “This year will be different” a million times, but it’s not the year I need to be different. It’s me who needs to be different. So instead of saying “2017 don’t let me down” or “2017, please be good to me” – I’m going to say, “Bayley, don’t let yourself down.” I am going to stop expecting the universe to be different and treat me better, but the universe has given me everything I need to do what I want to do.

This year I’m going to make something for myself. I want to create a booktube channel and start videoing my reactions to books I read. Who knows if anyone will ever watch it, all that matters is that I have fun with it. I want to write more. I’ve been in a writing slump for months. So, each day I need to sit down and write something, anything. It doesn’t matter what it is as long as there are words on paper. I want to read more. 2016 was the first year I actually made my reading challenge (and I made it early) since I started putting one down each year. I am trying to read a little each day and then at some point each book I’ll get hooked and finish it in one sitting. I want to post more. I want to post more on here because I know I don’t post nearly as much as I want to. That goes hand in hand with my writing and reading slump I’m in. I want to pick up new hobbies, preferably cross stitching funny sayings and pictures to give to my friends. I want to get healthier, but when you’re on a college student budget it’s hard to afford something other than ramen sometimes. I am going to try. I want to get more organized so I’ll buy a planner again and try something different like maybe a bullet journal.

This year I am going to try to be a better Me. I want to improve myself and my mind more than anything else this year. I want to educate myself on important topics and happenings in our world. I want to become an advocate. I want to learn to use my voice for good. I want to learn to see the brighter side of things. I want to look back at the end of the year and see that I have improved. Because if anything happened to me in 2016 that was good, it was that I liked who I was at the end of the year better than the person who walked into 2016.

This post may sound cliche and there might be a thousand just like it, but I mean every word I wrote. I’m not going to blame the year for anything (although blaming 2016 for anything bad that happened was fun and maybe comforting…) instead, I’ll take responsibility for my actions. I am going to make this year great because no one can do that for me except me.

 

I hope you had a safe and happy New Years’. And I hope that continues the rest of the year. And I hope you all find your resolutions, stick to them, have a wonderful year, and become the best you can be. I did see a post last year that said something like “You can’t always be the best but you can do your best.”* So forget about everyone else and be YOU because there’s no one better.

 

Happy New Year,

Bayley

 

 

*If I find that post I’ll add a link to it

Leave a Reply

