Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)

“Has anyone noticed this whole city is looking for us, mad at us, or wants to kill us?”
“So?” said Kaz.
“Well, usually it’s just half the city.”

I finished this book last night and I still can’t quite believe it’s over. I keep wanting to go back and pretend that the ending didn’t happen and that everything is okay. It’s fine.

I’m fine.

No. I’m not.

Leigh Bardugo wrote a beautiful duology with characters that I attached to, some slower than others, but it was hard to depart with them just the same. Especially *spoilers redacted*.

Bardugo impressed me with how she manages to create six diverse and interesting characters with each having a unique point of view. It’s hard to make each voice their own especially in third person, and the fact that she handled them beautifully is a feat. The last time I read a book with more than two POVs like this, it was the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

The stakes grew bigger in this book. First they had to get Inej back from Van Eck and then the stakes got higher from there. The action kept me at the edge of my seat and it was perfectly spread out through the book.

One good thing that happened is that one ship sailed and the other is at least getting there. The scene with Kaz and Inej at the end makes me smile when I think about it. It wasn’t much but it was progress!!

Overall, I enjoyed this book. The emotional damage I suffered from this book knocked my rating down a star but I still loved it.

4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

