The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)

23846013

The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers on October 13, 2015

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 398

 

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, so she destroyed them all.

 

The one thing I learned in this book is, Adeline somehow can keep on getting darker and darker.

I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book with a main character this dark, or at least one who battles it. At least in the last half (for sure) she didn’t battle it as much. It is different watching a main character go from someone with the choice between good and bad and fall down the path of villain. And I love it. This series is different from anything I’ve ever read purely for that fact. Of course there are times where I wish she could choose the light side of her, but she doesn’t and she gets thrills from things that would make most people feel guilty. And she really starts to embrace the dark side of her.

My favorite addition to the character list is Magiano. He kept the mood lighter at times and I enjoyed reading about him and learning what bits of information he would relinquish. Also the possibility of a romance involving him? I’m not sure how that will develop in the next book, but I’m looking forward to see where Marie Lu will take it or leave it.

Maeve was also an interesting addition and I liked how her powers and its potential to take the plot in a completely different direction were explored. And then taken in a completely different direction again. After many twists and turns and shocks, I will say Marie Lu is slowly becoming the queen of Plot Twists. The ending few chapters and scene give me chills when I think back to it. Everything about it was so well written and it makes me excited for book 3.

After the twists and how villainous Adeline turned out toward the end, I can’t wait to see how Marie Lu is going to use it in The Midnight Star.

 

4/5 Stars

Leave a comment